December 10/Minnetonka, Minn./PRNewswire -- Michael Foods Inc. today that the board of directors has appointed several officers to new positions effective January 1, 2008.

Gregg A. Ostrander is named executive chairman of the board of directors. Ostrander joined Michael Foods in 1993 and has served as chief executive officer since 1994, also serving as chairman since 2001. He was also president for most of the period since 1994.

John D. Reedy is named a vice chairman. Reedy has served as chief financial officer since 1988 and has been executive vice president since 2000.

David S. Johnson is named chief executive officer. Johnson joined Michael Foods in April as president, chief operating officer and chief executive officer-elect. He remains president. Johnson has also been elected to the board of directors effective January 1, 2008.

Mark W. Westphal is named chief financial officer. Westphal has served as senior vice president-Finance since 2006 and has served in various financial positions within Michael Foods since 1995. He remains a senior vice president.

Ostrander commented on the promotion of Johnson to chief executive officer, "Dave has shown a passion for the business of Michael Foods since joining us last spring. I am pleased to hand-over the CEO's position to him. I have no doubt he will very capably serve the company in that capacity and he has my full support as we work to execute our growth plans."

From the December 17, 2007, Prepared Foods e-Flash